Composer: Kevin George
Soloist: Lucius Weathersby
Instrumentation: woodwind (2 flutes, 2 clarinets), 4 Horns, 4 Trumpets, 3 Trombones, Tuba, Percussion (Timpani, Bass Drum, Snare Drum etc.), Strings, Organ. Suite for organ and orchestra is a multi-movement work. The first movement is fast and based on two melodic themes. The second movement is slow with a repeated idea sustained in the low strings. The organ and orchestra exchange melodic ideas while this drone like material is repeated in the bass. The last movement, unlike the previous two is a somewhat free in tempo. It is also based on two themes with the second theme reflecting a Bach like motif. This work is tonal in nature, but does not subscribe to any particular key. Dr. Kevin George will participate in the Composers Forum during the festival, and will discuss this and other works. Duration: 16 minutes

(ii). LIFT EVERY VOICE & SING (for SATB chorus & orchestra)
Arrangement: Roland Carter
Instrumentation: SATB chorus, Full orchestra - strings, brass (2 trumpets, 2 trombones, 1 bassoon, 1 horn), woodwind (2 flutes, 1 clarinet, 1 oboe), and 2 percussionists. An arrangement of the popular African American hymn. Duration: 4 minutes

(iii). NKOSI SIKELE L’I AFRIKA (for SATB chorus & full orchestra)
Arrangement: Fred Onovwerosuoke
Instrumentation: SATB chorus, Full orchestra - strings, brass (2 trumpets, 2 trombones, 1 bassoon, 1 horn), woodwind (2 flutes, 1 clarinet, 1 oboe), and 2 percussionists. An ABA arrangement of the South Africa’s National Anthem, which incidentally, has become symbolic for all of Africa. Work is tonal, with clearly identifiable melodies for the strings & woodwinds, brass. Duration: 3 minutes

(iv). THE LORD GOD WILL COME (for SATB chorus & wind ensemble)
Composer: Lettie Beckon Alston
Instrumentation: Organ, Bb trumpet, 2 Horns in F, trombone, tuba, timpani.

Composer: Nkeiru Okoye
Instrumentation: 2 flutes, 1 piccolo, 2 clarinets in A, 1 bass clarinet, 2 bassoons, 4 horns in F, 3 trumpets in C, 2 tenor trombones, 1 tuba, percussion (vibraphone, marimba, glockenspiel, suspended cymbal, piano), strings. Programmatic work, very percussive. Sparsely atonal, but with sensitive melodic lines for strings and brass. Duration: 9 minutes.

Composer: Joshua Uzoigwe. Instrumentation: Strings, 2 flutes, 2 oboes, 2 bassoons, 2 horns in F, 2 trumpets in Bb, 2 trombones, timpani, percussion, harp. Work is heavily percussive, multiple meter. Duration: 4 minutes

(vii). UMUNTU WA BANTU (3rd Movement)
Composer: Bongani Ndodana
Instrumentation: 2 flutes (2nd piccolo), 2 oboes (2nd cor anglais), 2 clarinets (2nd bass clarinet), horn in F, 2 percussion, strings. Programmatic piece, punctuated by a passionate sketches by solo cello. Duration: 7 minutes

Composer: Edward Bland
Instrumentation: strings. The Partita for Strings composed in 1983 is in 5 movements. All movements are based on the same thematic material. This cyclical thematic treatment allows the listener to be aware of the many levels of continuous development and variation. The Partita was first performed on a radio broadcast in Los Angeles on KPFK-FM in 1983 conducted by Bill Henderson. Duration: 12 minutes.

Composer: Gary Powell Nash
Instrumentation: piccolo, 2 flutes, 2 Oboes, English horn, 2 Bb clarinets, Bb bass clarinet, 2 bassoons, 4 French horns, 3 Bb trumpets, 3 trombones, tuba, timpani, piano, strings, Percussion I (snare, 2 hard mallet tom-toms, marimba), Percussion II (bass drum, glockenspiel, chimes, conga drums), Percussion III (suspended cymbal, vibes, tam-tam, chimes). Duration: 10 minutes.

(x). SYMPHONY No. 5
Composer: William Grant Still
Work is part of standard repertoire. Grant Still remains the most visible name of all African-American composers. His daughter, Judith Anne Still, will present a lecture during the festival. Duration: 15 minutes.

(xi). SYMPHONY-CONCERTANTE (Baptism by Fire)
Composer: Gyimah Labi
Instrumentation: 3 flutes (3rd , piccolo), 2 Oboes, 1 English horn, 2 Bb clarinets, 1 bass clarinet, 2 bassoons, 1 contrabassoon, 4 horns in F, 3 Bb trumpets, 3 trombones, 1 tuba, 4 timpani, 1 percussion (snare drum, bass drum, triangle, suspended & hi-hat cymbals), 1 twin cowbell (high & low), 1 maracas, 3 pianos, strings. The Symphony-Concertante (Baptism by Fire) was commissioned by the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Society in November 1995 as a result of my participation in a Composers' Project during Africa 95 - a season devoted to the arts of Africa - from antiquity to the present. It was made possible through the enthusiastic support of major British arts institutions, in particular the Royal Academy of Arts. Currently, I have revised this piece for 3 Pianos and Orchestra. The St. Louis performance will therefore be an American premiere. Duration: 20 minutes.

(xii). Concertino Africana for piano & orchestra
Composer: Paul Konye
Instrumentation: 2 flutes, 2 oboes, 2 Bb clarinets, 2 bassoons, 2 F horns,, 2 Bb trumpets, trombones, piano, strings. Concertina Africanan is a musical portrait of Africa at the turn of the new  millennium. The vast and diverse cultural landscape of the continent and its peoples are represented with contrasting Western and African musical characteristics. Identifiable passages of call and response, cross-rhythms, simulated heterophonic textures, bi-tonality, pentatonicism, and conventianal diatonic harmonies are presented side-by-side or superimposed to portray the impact of external cultural influences on indigenous African cultures. Three movements depicting colonial era, post-independence, and the millennium, portray the corresponding state of the continent's development.

xiii. Glimpses
Composer: Earl Stewart
Instrumentation: 3 flutes (3rd, piccolo), 2 oboes, English horn, 3 clarinets (1 bass), 3  bassoons (1 contrabassoon), 4 horns, 3 trumpets, 3 trombones, tuba, 4 percussions, piano, harp, strings.

About Us | Calendar | Support Us |  Contact Us